Video Spotlight: Stanley Jordan’s “Stairway To Heaven”

“Stairway to Heaven” — Yes, I’m going there…

Yesterday, MTV News reported that Mary J. Blige has just recorded a cover of the classic Zeppelin track, along with Travis Barker (of Blink 182), Randy Jackson (of American Idol), guitar virtuoso Steve Vai, and Orianthi (as seen along side Michael Jackson in “This is It”).

With that being said, I have seen many attempts at doing the original justice, and only ONCE have I seen it work, as seen below by jazz guitarst Stanley Jordan:

You can purchase Mr. Jordan’s take here.

Being the fan that I am of cover songs, I look forward to hearing Mary J. Blige’s rendition, but I am not sure if it will move me half as much as Mr. Jordan’s take.

I welcome your thoughts.

2 Responses to Video Spotlight: Stanley Jordan’s “Stairway To Heaven”

  1. Nick Aker says:

    It’s always so awe-inspiring to watch/listen to people who Really know their craft.

Leave a Reply

